Quick Answer: What Does Delete The Home Folder Mean?

How do I delete a Mac user account?

On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Users & Groups.

Click the lock icon to unlock it.

Enter an administrator name and password.

Select the user or group you want to delete, then click the Remove button (looks like a minus sign) below the list of users..

How do I delete an old Apple ID without the password?

Part 4: Use iOS Unlock to Remove Apple ID from iPhone without Password (Easy & Safe)Step 1: Connect your iPhone to the computer. … Step 2: Enter screen password and trust this computer. … Step 3: Reset all your iPhone settings and restart it. … Step 4: Start to remove an Apple ID without password.More items…•

Where is deleted users folder on Mac?

In the Finder on your Mac, choose Go > Go to Folder, enter /Users, then click Go. The deleted user’s home folder is in the /Users folder, and its name is the same as the user’s account name, followed by (Deleted).

Does deleting a user on Mac delete files?

If your account is at the administrator level and not a standard or other managed account, you can delete other user accounts. When you do, you have the option of saving that user’s files and settings or wiping the data entirely from the Mac.

How do I delete the administrator account on my computer?

Way 2: Delete administrator account in Windows 10 Control PanelPress Win + X and choose Control Panel in pop-up menu to open Control Panel.Choose “User Accounts User Accounts Manage another account” in Control Panel.Click the administrator account you want to remove or delete in user list.More items…

How do I see hidden folders on Mac?

See hidden files on Mac via Finder In Finder, open up your Macintosh HD folder. Press Command+Shift+Dot. Your hidden files will become visible. Repeat step 2 to hide them again!

Where are my files on Mac?

Open windows and files To open a window and see the files on your Mac, switch to the Finder by clicking the Finder icon (pictured above) in the Dock.

How do I delete administrator on Macbook Air?

After you’ve launched System Preferences, locate Users & Groups.Locate Users & Groups on the bottom left. … Select the padlock icon. … Enter your password. … Select the admin user on the left and then select the minus icon near the bottom. … Choose an option from the list and then select Delete User.More items…•

How do I clear other storage on my Mac?

How to delete Other Storage on MacFrom your desktop press Command + F.Click This Mac.Click the first dropdown menu field and select Other.From the Search Attributes window tick File Size and File Extension.Now you can input different document file types (. pdf, . … Review the items and then delete as needed.

How do I delete user accounts?

Delete user accounts in Windows 10Open the Settings app.Select the Accounts Option.Select Family and Other Users.Select the user and press Remove.Select Delete account and data.

What happens if I delete a user on Mac?

The disk image of their files is saved in /Users/Deleted Users/. Don’t change the home folder: This removes the user account from the login screen, but most other things are left in place. Their home folder remains in /Users/ and you can restore their account later if you want to.

What is the Home folder on Mac?

Your home folder is named with your user name and has folders for your desktop files, downloads, pictures, documents, movies, music, and any public files. You can create folders in your home folder.

How long does it take for Apple to delete your account?

seven daysApple will confirm it is working on deleting your account on the website and in an email. Apple says the process may take up to seven days. Your account will remain active while verification is in progress. Remember to sign out of the Apple ID on all devices and web browsers before the account is deleted.

Can I delete my Apple ID and create a new one?

How to delete your Apple ID account. If you have an iPhone, iPad or Mac, chances are that you have created an Apple ID account at some point. If you have an iTunes, App Store or iCloud account, then you have an Apple ID. Unfortunately, Apple does not allow you to delete your Apple ID account outright.

Can I delete my Apple ID and make a new one with the same email?

Can I remove email from an Apple ID? and reuse the same email to create another Apple ID? Yes you can. The email address is not available because it remains associated with your previous Apple ID. The solution is to log in to https://appleid.apple.com/ with your old Apple ID, and remove that email address from it.

How do I view all my files on a Mac?

How to do itOpen a new Finder window.Select “All My Files” from the sidebar.Click the Action icon in the toolbar. (Hint: it looks like a gear.)Select “Show Search Criteria.”Once you do this, you’ll be presented with a list of criteria that the Finder uses by default to find all of the files on your system.

How do I delete administrator account on macbook without password?

Question: Q: How can I remove admin password without a install diskboot computer and hold the “apple” key and the “s” key.wait for terminal show.release keys.type without the quotes: “/sbin/mount -uaw”press enter.type without the quotes: “rm /var/db/.applesetupdone.press enter.type without the quotes: “reboot”More items…•

How do you delete the home folder on a Mac?

Select your personal account (the one you just logged out of) and click the minus button in the bottom left corner of the list of users. Choose “Delete the home folder” and “Erase home folder securely”.

Why is it taking so long to delete a user account on my Mac?

As stated by Jaime Santa Cruz, it is taking a long time because it is saving his files to a disk image for backup. To stop that process, hold down the power button until you computer shuts off. You will be ok, but don’t use this method for every issue you run into.

Why can’t I delete a user account on my Mac?

On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Users & Groups. Click the lock icon to unlock it. … Select the user or group you want to delete, then click the Remove button (looks like a minus sign) below the list of users. If other users are logged in to this Mac now, you can’t select them.